Cereal is incredibly adaptable—it can be sweet or savory, nutritious or indulgent, hot or cold, and can be enjoyed early in the morning or late at night. Most importantly, it instantly improves the mood of everybody who partakes in its delectability.
Nothing compares to a delicious bowl of cereal: In many circumstances, if you choose the correct cereal, you can even get nutritionist approval.
However, if you’re a vegan, you’ll need to be a little more careful about which boxes you choose from the shelf. Palinski-Wade warns that animal-based substances like milk proteins and sweeteners like honey can easily get into your favorite products.
Are you trying to figure out how to go vegan healthily and sustainably, this write up is exclusively a treat for you.
What defines a vegan cereal?
Cereal isn’t vegan, by default. Manufacturers frequently include animal-derived ingredients (such as milk) in their products, which vegans cannot consume without some form of modification.
Vegan cereals must not contain any animal products in their ingredient list. To be labeled “vegan,” a cereal company must be certified by the Vegan Society or have its ingredients verified by a vegan certification agency.
The certification process is rigorous, requiring only vegan-friendly ingredients. Organic soy milk, coconut oil (instead of butter), and vegan sugar are examples of this.
To be labeled “vegan,” a cereal’s ingredients must also come from an ethical and sustainable supply chain.
It’s important to note that many vegan cereals contain honey in their ingredient list.
What should I check out for in a vegan cereal?
Animal products are, of course, the most essential item to check for in a vegan cereal. You want to check sure there is no milk or dairy of any type in the product, but other animal-based substances might be hidden in the ingredient list. As a result, it’s advisable to buy vegan-certified items.
Some ingredients that you must avoid or at least question
- Natural flavors: When the words “natural flavors” appear on an ingredient list, there’s no way to know what they really mean unless you contact the company. It could be vegan or animal-based. That’s why it’s best to buy only vegan products that are clearly labeled as such. It’s a lot easier than going through an ingredient list and contacting companies.
- Vitamin D: Vitamin D is commonly derived from lanolin. However, there are also plant-based sources. Notwithstanding, if it isn’t labeled as vegan, it isn’t.
- Sugar: Sugar is sometimes produced using bone char, and if the product isn’t labeled as vegan, you won’t know how the sugar is prepared unless you contact the manufacturer.
- Gelatin: Sadly, gelatin, which is derived from animals, is found in a number of well-known popular cereals.
- Honey: While there is some discussion about whether honey is good for vegans, it does come from an animal and hence cannot be classified as vegan. It is, however, your choice whether or not to eat it. On the other hand, Honey is acceptable to some vegans because it is a natural and minimally processed sweetener. But, if you believe that honey is incompatible with your veganism, double-check the ingredient label, even on boxes clearly labeled as vegan cereals.
What to check out for on the nutrition details description
If being vegan is your primary concern, go ahead and consume the cereal once you’ve confirmed it’s vegan. If you’re looking for a nutritious and health-promoting cereal, there are a few things you should look for on the nutrition facts label. These include;
- Fiber: It’s essential to verify the amount of fiber per serving in any cereal, vegan or not. A bowl of cereal with at least 5 grams of fiber per serving is great. Nonetheless, if you have a higher fiber requirement, seek even more fiber per serving!
- Protein: Although most people do not require nearly as much protein as they believe, it is necessary to include some protein in each meal. Everyone’s protein requirements fluctuate based on their bodies and levels of exercise, so figure out what you need and make sure the protein in the cereal you buy is sufficient for your health.
- Added Sugar: Because there is a distinction, added sugar is listed here instead of just sugar. Added sugar is frequently processed and unhealthy, but naturally occurring sugar, such as sugar found in fruits, is not a concern for most individuals. In an ideal world, the amount of sugar added to a bowl of cereal should be very low or non-existent. If you’re craving sugary cereal, go for it occasionally, but try to stick to a lower added sugar cereal daily.
What are the best vegan cereals?
Although this depends on who you ask, the best vegan cereals are made with ingredients sourced from an ethical and sustainable supply chain. While the manufacturing processes vary slightly, all of the ingredients are vegan-friendly. There are many different vegan cereal options, and the best will vary from person to person, but the following are fan favorites:
- ONE DEGREE VEGAN CEREALS
- KELLOG’S, NATURE’S PATH
- ONE DEGREE VEGAN CEREALS
- VEGAN GRANOLA
- BARBARA’S ORGANIC VEGAN,
- CASCADIAN FARM, KASHI CEREALS,
- ARROWHEAD VEGAN CEREALS
- TRADER JOE’S CEREAL, FOOD FOR LIFE, QUAKER.
When you’re vegan, it can be difficult to navigate cereals. The good news is that as time goes on, there are more and more options, with many brands now offering at least one or two vegan cereal varieties.
But once it comes to choosing the best, it is a matter of personal preference. Just make sure to read every label, regardless of the vegan seal, to ensure that it aligns with your brand of veganism.
How to eat vegan cereal
Everyone knows that cereal is best served with milk, but if you’re new to veganism, you might be wondering what your alternatives to milk are. Nut-based milk, such as almond milk and cashew milk, are the first and most popular. These options have a rich flavor and are slightly thicker than most non-dairy milk alternatives, and they are low in calories in their unsweetened forms.
Soy milk, oat milk, rice milk, pea milk, and coconut milk are nut-free alternatives.
Soy milk is a great alternative because it contains the same amount of protein as cow’s milk. However, high levels of isoflavone consumption may affect estrogen levels, so keep your intake moderate.
Oat milk is a slightly sweeter option that is high in fiber. When compared to other options, this milk has a higher carbohydrate content. Nonetheless, it is a dairy-free alternative that aids in cholesterol reduction due to the soluble fiber content.
Rice milk is an excellent choice for those who are gluten intolerant or allergic to milk. This milk is free of soy, dairy, gluten, and nuts. Rice milk contains the most carbohydrates of our options and is known to raise blood sugar levels, so it is unlikely to be a good choice for people with diabetes.
Coconut milk is a sweeter and thinner cereal milk alternative. It has the fewest carbohydrates but also the most saturated fats.
Add fresh fruit to your cereal to make it a more complete meal, such as raspberries, blueberries, or sliced strawberries.
Where can I find vegan-friendly cereal brands?
While it is difficult to find a cereal brand that only has vegan options and uses vegan ingredients, here are the brands with the most options and choices. Just make sure to check the box before buying to ensure it’s from their vegan cereal line.
Top 10 vegan cereal brands
Nature’s Path Organic Gluten-Free Sunrise Crunchy Maple
These aren’t the cheapest vegan cereals, but the combination of corn, brown rice, quinoa, falx, amaranth, and buckwheat makes them filling and great for starting the day.
They also have a healthy amount of plant-based Omega 3’s per serving that you need to keep your brain functioning at its peak.
Nature’s Path Organic Gluten-Free Sunrise Crunchy Maple is available online.
ELAN original granola cereal In almond pecan walnut coconut
This vegan is also gluten-free, soy-free, dairy-free, GMO-free, and salt-free. The combination of oats, syrup, seeds, and nuts, on the other hand, provides a soft, sweet crunch with a superb mouthfeel that’s high in fiber. ELAN Original Granola Cereal in Almond Pecan Walnut Coconut is available online.
Food For Life Ezekiel 4:9: Organic Sprouted Grain Cereal, Golden Flax
A recipe from the Bible inspires this vegan cereal. It’s all-natural, organic, and free of yeast, flour, additives, colors, and preservatives.
This has a low glycemic index, which is good if you’re worried about getting diabetes for breakfast. Enjoy.
Food For Life Ezekiel 4:9 Organic Sprouted Grain Cereal, Golden Flax is available for purchase online.
Fiber One Cereal, Original Bran, Whole Grain Cereal
The average 13 grams of whole grains found in each serving of Fiber One cereal gives it a fiber punch, as the name suggests. It’s worth mentioning, though, that this cereal includes aspartame and phenylalanine. Which we aren’t entirely happy with. Fiber One Cereal, Original Bran, Whole Grain Cereal are all available online.
Cascadian Farm Organic Fruitful O’s Cereal
If you miss Fruit Loops from before you went vegan, Cascadian Farm has you covered with their all-natural substitute! They’re delicious, and they’re especially refreshing first thing in the morning. The sweet flavor comes from 100% organic corn and organic food products, and there are no GMOs in it. Thank you so much, Cascadian Farm! Cascadian Farm Organic Fruitful O’s Cereal is available online.
Kind Healthy Grains Clusters, Vanilla Blueberry With Flax Seeds Granola
Yes, these delectable grain clusters with blueberries, apple juice, molasses, vanilla flavor, and more are from the same people who designed the KIND bar (which you can mail to a friend). They’re a touch costly, but they’re so delicious! Kind Healthy Grains Clusters, Vanilla Blueberry With Flax Seeds Granola is available for purchase online.
Living Intentions Organic Superfood Cereal – Cacao Crunch
We can’t blame you if you want something with a bit of chocolate for breakfast; it’s delicious! It’s paleo, kosher, vegan, and gluten-free, and it’s just what you’re looking for. This cereal also contains probiotic bacteria, which help to keep your stomach healthy and regular! Living Intentions Organic Superfood Cereal – Cacao Crunch is available online.
Barbara’s Puffins Original Cereal
On this list, these are possibly the most kid-friendly vegan cereals. These puffins cereals are high in plant-based fiber and contain only 6 grams of sugar per serving, so they won’t destroy your child’s teeth. They also have a lot of whole grains in them.
Barbara’s Puffins Original Cereal is available online. CHECK PRICES
It’s the most satisfying cereal on our list, and it’s almost divine when drenched in almond milk. Unfortunately, you might not be able to eat this every day because it’s also high in carbs (47 grams per serving) and you might not want to gain weight.
Bob’s Red Mill Resealable Old Country Style Muesli
Enjoy a bowl of traditional muesli, and this breakfast cereal from Bob’s Old Mill, which is high in fiber and protein per serving. Bob’s Red Mill Resealable Old Country Style Muesli is available online. CHECK PRICESmilk soy protein plant-based non-dairy dairy-free alternative